Wiki Teaching e/m to physicians

Best answers
Did anyone listen to the webinar yesturday? I was disapointed at the vaugness of the presentation. There were lots of "suggestions" and you should have this or that- but no concrete info about where to start or how. I really hope parts 2 and 3 are more specific. With that said it was suggested that each auditor should have a homegrown educational book to go along with the auditing material. Does anyone have this? would you be willing to share any info? I am new to Auditing and could use any info you are willing to give. I have been doing tons of research and CEU's related to this- but I am feeling a little overwelmed. My employer and the physicians want some easy fix explanation on how to pick a level of care. I am finding that it is hard to explain to people other than coders. How do I simplify the info without loosing the content?? Thanks for any advise or help!!

The best source of information is the 1995 and 1997 Evaluation and Management Guidelines on CMS. You need to know your Medicare carrier and how they interpret the guidelines. You can ask them what audit tool they use when reviewing documentation and be familiar with that tool.

You could try a google search for audit forms or tools and review a few of them-bottom line-find one you are comfortable with and stick with it. I personally prefer an audit tool that is one page (some are multiple pages).

Be careful when researching that you are not getting somebody's personal interpretation since there are so many grey areas in auditing.

If you are coming to regional conference in September, I am presenting a session on "The Good, Bad and Ugly of E/M Auditing" and there should be some other sessions on auditing as well.