Coder11NY

Contributor
Best answers
Hello and Happy New Year! I'm sitting for the CPC Exam on April 9 2016! I have my RCC and my ICD 10 proficiency credential and ive been coding for 7 years. I have a few co-workers who are not coders that took the exam and passed and gave me the following tips: study the guidelines in the front of the ICD-10 and CPT books, take timed practice tests, really understand late effect vs Initial conditions, diabetes, HIV.....what else am I missing? I have 2 kids under 2 so studying is tight and every second counts for me. Any help would be appreciated!

Diagnostic coding is fairly minimal in CPC exam. 10 ICD questions and some ICD codes in the answers of the CPT questions (sometimes the DX is the tie breaker)

You will need to read more than just the front of the CPT book. The guidelines that you will be testing on are throughout the CPT book mingled in with the codes and in the color pages before each section. I don't know how many one could pass without much CPT coding knowledge or training.

CodingKing: I have 7 years experience coding, I'm just trying to get the most out of my studying. Where does one start with 7 years experience is my problem? I know how to code, I know guidelines and I can read. My question was what should I focus my time on.

The exam does not test you on how well you can code. It tests you on how well you can determine which of the 4 choices is the correct answer. With 7 years of experience, your biggest challenge will be to not try and code the questions. Work backwards, look up the CPT or ICD-10 and determine which choice best fits the question. If you try and actually code the question like you would do in your job, there is a possibility that what you come up with isn't one of the choices.

Pay attention to time management. I have no hard data to support this, but I suspect the #1 reason an experienced coder would fail this exam would be due to running out of time.