Wiki Coding and bad credit

ngayle

Best answers
A friend of mine has dropped out of coding classes a few weeks before finishing. She is filing for bankruptcy and thinks that this will make her unemployable. Does anyone have any information on how credit and more so bankruptcy affect your ability to get a job as a medical coder?

This wont affect her at all. If that was the case there would be millions of people unable to get a job because of a prior bankruptcy. Now, some employers I have heard do credit checks, but dont let her bankruptcy prevent her from applying for employment.

Last edited:
It Very Well Could Matter!

As a college instructor I get calls from companies all the time looking for coders. Federal positions, especially at prison hospitals or facilities will not hire you, cannot hire you if you have problems with bad debt or credit issues. I also know that some employers bond their coding employees since they deal with the financial aspects of the companies. In this case bad credit issues can affect the ability of the employer to bond your friend, thus making her unemployable for them. Since most insurance companies now use your credit report as a way to determine responsibility when it comes to insurance she may also be prevented from getting professional liability insurance / Errors and omissions insurance. I always recommend coders carry this insurance to protect themselves. So she is right to think it will impact her professionally because it will. Think about it would you want someone who couldn't manage their personal finances responsible for your companies finances? Should that be the sole reason to drop out of school...no, but this may just be a convenient excuse since she obviously has other things going on in her life right now. She will need a good professional job to pull herself up and out of this credit issue down the road so encourage to stay in school, even if she may encounter some resistance to a dream coding job early on, she will ha