Wiki Coding HPV vaccine in Pediatrician office

limit006

Contributor
Best answers
Hi

Could someone help me? I am new to coding... When a patient comes in the office and received an HPV vaccine and the Physician counsel the patient and family. What code would I use for the counselng part of it? I am at a lost because in the CPT Manual there are counseling codes only for children younger the eight years of age.

Is there any counseling codes for children above the age of 8 years of age? And my next question is when using a dx code for the HPV which is the difference between V04.89 and V05.8 I' m at a lost. And if there is not a procedure code for the couselng part of it would I be safe, billing with a dx code V65.9 which is Unspecified reason for consultation?:

Final question, when a patient comes in the office for other problems but received a vaccine. How would you code? because with some insurance companies if you bill a 99213 with a Vcode there are times where the claim will either deny because youre billing an office code 99213 with a preventive dx code. Or the claim will be paid but when you actually bill a well visit it may deny because the pt is limit to a certain amount of preventive care.

Could someone please help me I;m at a lost.

Sincerely,

Linda B

Administration Code with Vaccine Code

I too am new to coding. I just reviewed some office fee tickets and they do not have ANY administration codes on them--in other words, they have been billing for the vaccine, but never the ADMINISTRATION of the vaccine. I am sure that this can't be correct. I realize through the Vaccines for Children program, the vaccine is provided free, and I believe we get $5 for the administration, but commercial payers have not been billed for administration, or the VFC program....Can someone help me please? The only other way I can find out is asking the payers, and I really don't want to look that stupid!