Wiki Diagnosis coding for hospitalists

klienhart

Networker
Best answers
Hi, I'm really hoping someone can give me some insight into diagnosis coding for hospitalists. I am new to auditing. My specialty is orthopedics, but my director has me auditing a Hospitalist coder. I am noticing that she is not coding all of the diagnoses under the Assessment and Plan. For example, the hospitalist documents 10 diagnosis codes, but my coder is only coding 7 of them. I have also noticed that the diagnoses she is Not coding will look like this -

9. Hypertension - continue metoprolol.

Where as the ones she Is coding will look like this -

1. Diabetes Mellitus type II - continue insulin, get an A1c

Basically, the diagnoses she is coding have some kind of further instruction or have a test ordered.

Any thoughts? Is my coder correct in Not coding all of the diagnoses. I do understand that the hospitalist Cannot code for a condition being followed in the hospital by another physician.

TIA

Well, the example you give has HTN in the A/P which is being addressed by 'continue with Metoprolol'. Had HTN been documented without any plan then it's not being addressed. A further instruction or test ordered supports management as does a decision to just continue with a long term medication without further testing.
I think your coder is incorrect to not code these problems - of course, if you meet with the coder post-audit you can ask them for their rationale for coding versus not coding a particular problem. This would be a good enough example.

Well, the example you give has HTN in the A/P which is being addressed by 'continue with Metoprolol'. Had HTN been documented without any plan then it's not being addressed. A further instruction or test ordered supports management as does a decision to just continue with a long term medication without further testing.