Wiki how many providers per biller/coder

amanda23

Best answers
Hi everybody! I was just wondering if you all could give me some insight as to how many providers you do the billing/coding for. Right now I am working for 6 providers and I do all the billing/coding from A-Z. I have seen other offices that don't like putting that much resp. on one person, but I'm just curious to know what the average is. Any input greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Amanda

Hi everybody! I was just wondering if you all could give me some insight as to how many providers you do the billing/coding for. Right now I am working for 6 providers and I do all the billing/coding from A-Z. I have seen other offices that don't like putting that much resp. on one person, but I'm just curious to know what the average is. Any input greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Amanda

I have 7, but I only do the surgical coding and billing not the office stuff

I am basically a keypunch operator. I get encounters from 5 practices (9 providers). We have another dept that does AR and appeals, another one who does posting of money.

I code, register and post demos with verified insurance for 12 physicians(each has their own orthopaedic specialty; trauma, spine, upper /lower extrm, total hips/knees, sports etc...) in our group of 24, plus 4 fellows and multiple physician's assistants when applicable.

Last edited:
I am the only coder for a 65+ provider multi-specialty practice. The providers do their own coding :eek: and I help on the A/R end clean it up. A little bass-ackwards if you ask me, but I do have my hands full! I also do internal audits and I do my best to keep the providers up-to-date on coding and educate the business office staff.

providers/biller/coder