Wiki In need of advice

Radcoder86

Networker
Best answers
Hi, I am a fairly new certified coder and am feeling very discouraged. I currently code for a family practice but it is downsizing and I am having to look for another job. The more I look the more I realize how little I know. I paid a lot of money for my coding course, and when I got my job, I quickly learned how much essential information was left out of my course. I have learned a lot through my job by doing research and posting questions on this forum, but there's still so much I don't know. I don't even understand basic NCCI edits, it was something that was just skimmed over in my course and unfortunately, I don't work with anyone that understands them either. I'm nervous about paying a lot of money for another course that isn't going to teach me what a coder really needs to know in order to be great at their job. I want to be able to do more than just primary care coding. I want to eventually be able to work for a hospital, but right now, that is something I'm so far away from being able to do. Can some seasoned coders please give me advice on what I should do, where I should start? Is being a successful coder something a person really needs some sort of medical college education for? We were told in my course with coding jobs, you pretty much learn from experience and you just work your way up, but that doesn't seem to be the case unless you're really lucky.

Free advice and free resources

Hello Radcoder86:

I certainly understand the frustration and disappointment. Many medical coding courses, whether a degree or non-degree structured education, omit many of the practical areas of coding and billing that medical coders encounter in the real world. I suggest a couple of ideas: