Wiki pediatric E/M

Anna Weaver

Best answers
Okay, I'm new to pediatric coding. We have a physician who codes the pediatric visits with a problem focused visit, but the V20.2 codes. I'm not familiar enough with pediatric coding to determine whether this is accurate, but I'm thinking not. These are well visit codes, and to my thinking should only be used with preventive visits. But, how do you code the check up visits for infants. For instance, I have an example here, some of this is unreadable to me:

1 month check up
The birth history is documented, the length, wt, head circ, temp, chest, who accompanied (parents), age, date.
Interval history injuries, illness: none
medication: none
Allergies: NKA
Milestones, nutrition, formula (type, amount, how often)
Spitting up x0, other problems none
Sleep (bad)
Elimination (BM 1-3 daily, void often)
Vaccination (can't read)
Concerns none
examination:
L-node okay-clear
chest clear
CNS S1, S2, )
Abn
Genitals
Testes Low
Head Neck
ears
eye
tone
reflexes all okay
Then health behaviors:
car seat, family relatonships,
back to sleep
second hand smoke
immunizations
colic
follow up one month

This was coded with 99203 V20.2 Would this be correct?

Okay, I'm new to pediatric coding. We have a physician who codes the pediatric visits with a problem focused visit, but the V20.2 codes. I'm not familiar enough with pediatric coding to determine whether this is accurate, but I'm thinking not. These are well visit codes, and to my thinking should only be used with preventive visits. But, how do you code the check up visits for infants. For instance, I have an example here, some of this is unreadable to me:

1 month check up
The birth history is documented, the length, wt, head circ, temp, chest, who accompanied (parents), age, date.
Interval history injuries, illness: none
medication: none
Allergies: NKA
Milestones, nutrition, formula (type, amount, how often)
Spitting up x0, other problems none
Sleep (bad)