Wiki Understanding sequencing diagnosis codes with causal relationships

Best answers
Hi,

I'm not a new coder, but I have really been studying the guidelines to ensure that I have a good understanding on code sequencing. I thought it might be a good idea to get a refresher on some common scenarios I see at work. I might be overthinking this so I'm really just looking for some opinions from my fellow coders on how you handle these codes. I'm going to give a made-up scenario that includes DM2, CKD, and HTN to see which diagnosis codes you would choose. For the specific scenario, the provider did not give any kind of indication in the note that the CKD and HTN were unrelated.

Assessment and Plan

1. Controlled Type 2 DM with hypoglycemia w/o coma - E11.649
[insert plan]

2. T2DM with diabetic CKD - E11.22
[insert plan]

3. Hyperlipidemia - E78.5
[insert plan]

4. Hypertension - I10
[insert plan]

5. CKD, stage 3, unspecified - N18.30
[insert plan]

Now, my question is, would you change I10 to I12.9? would you seek the approval of the physician before changing to this code? Other than the provider stating they were unrelated, is there another reason why you would not change to I12.9?

I know the guidelines are plain as day with the following: " ..conditions should be coded as related even in the absence of provider documentation explicitly linking them, unless the documentation clearly states the conditions are unrelated (I. C. 9. a)." I'm asking how you as the coder would handle this scenario.

Thank you in advance, I appreciate all the feedback!! :)

the answers are in your ICD code book.

the guidelines in the beginning of Chapter 9 state:
"Assign codes from category I12, Hypertensive CKD, when both hypertension and a condition classifiable to category N18, CKD, are present. CKD should not be coded as hypertensive if the provider indicates the CKD is not related to the hypertension..."

if you look up the CKD- N18.**- the instructions read: