Wiki I've been reading the forums and I have a few questions. -Tampa

DylanBaxter

Best answers
Hello My name is Dylan and I'm new to the medical field. I've been reading on these forums since I singed up for my course at the end of May. I opted to get the whole package since I had no previous experience. I picked up a position in the front office of an urgent care, because it was shown to be a good idea to get your foot in the door. I've been doing that since mid June, and have learned a lot about how billing and coding works. It's nice to see the real world applications of what I am studying. I go to my chapter's meetings every month, that's where I was recommended this position. I do have a few questions about moving forward.

I'm going to schedule my test for the month of December; is this a realistic plan?

Just like everyone else I have not seen a job posting that takes new coders. With the schedule I work, I have days during the week I could spend as an intern/volunteer to gain experience. I've asked my supervisor if I could shadow someone in the company on my off days, and that was shot down imitatively. I live in the Tampa area, I can toss a rock from my house to the Moffitt center.

My question would be whats a good way to gain that experience/opportunity?

Obviously I won't have the productivity of a seasoned coder. But everyone starts out somewhere, and I just need someone to take a shot at me.

From what I've seen on this forum I'm on the right track. But I just want to make sure, and want to see if there's anything I can do to be proactive while studying; so I can have a position after I complete my certification and get my -A taken off. These events should happen within 90 days of one another. I also have a B.S. if that helps my situation at all.

Thanks for reading my long post, and for your feedback!! :D :D

Last edited:
I did the same process, but went about it a different way.