ICD-10-CM for HCC

In 1997 the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) mandated a payment model called Risk Adjustment and Hierarchical Condition Category (HCC). HCC was implemented in 2003. The model assigns a risk factor score to individuals determined to have a serious or chronic illness based on the individuals health conditions and demographics. Health conditions of an individual are determined by International Classification of Diseases – 10 (ICD –10) diagnoses submitted by providers on incoming claims. More than 9,000 ICD-10 codes map to 79 HCC codes in the Risk Adjustment model.

This online interactive course goes through the reasons for changes to quantity based payments and how chronic conditions can drive up healthcare costs in todays environment. In this 8 hour training we go over chronic conditions covered in the HCC program and the ICD-10-CM codes that apply.

Online curriculum will include:

  • 8 CEUs (8 hours at your own pace):
    • Downloadable manual
    • Interactive learning
    • Solutions to tough coding cases
    • Hands-on exercises with real-world coding cases

8-hour Online Training

Non-Members: $449   Member: $399

Conditions covered will include:

  • Angina
  • Anemia
  • Arthritis
  • Atrial Fibrillation
  • Asthma
  • Cerebrovascular Accident
  • Dementia
  • Depression
  • Diabetes Mellitus
  • Epilepsy
  • Fractures
  • Lymphoma
  • Neoplams’s
  • Spondylopathies
  • HIV
  • Malnutrition and Cachexia
  • Acute Myocardial Infarctions
  • Pneumonia
  • Pulmonary Hypertension
  • Pressure Ulcers
  • Overweight and Obesity
For group purchases or to inquire about in-person training, please call 844-825-1679 or have us call you
For individual purchases, questions, or technical issues, please call 800-626-2633 or have us call you

Looking for Exhibiting Opportunities or Group Discounts?

Contact us at 800-626-2633.