Home > Medical Terms for Billing and Coding > HEALTHCARE COMMON PROCEDURAL CODING SYSTEM



A medical code set that identifies health care procedures, equipment, and supplies for claim submission purposes. It has been selected for use in the HIPAA transactions. HCPCS Level I contains numeric CPT® codes which are maintained by the AMA. HCPCS Level II contains alphanumeric codes used to identify various items and services that are not included in the CPT medical code set. These are maintained by HCFA, the BCBSA, and the HIAA. HCPCS Level III contains alphanumeric codes that are assigned by Medicaid state agencies to identify additional items and services not included in levels I or II. These are usually called "local codes", and must have "W", "X", "Y", or "Z" in the first position. HCPCS Procedure Modifier Codes can be used with all three levels, with the WA - ZY range used for locally assigned procedure modifiers.

Learn more about medical coding and billing, training, jobs and certification.

Looking for Exhibiting Opportunities or Group Discounts?

Contact us at 877-524-5027.

Which certification is right for you?

Call 877-290-0440 or have a career counselor call you.

Which eNewsletters are right for you?

Call 844-334-2816 to speak with a specialist now.

Which books are right for you?

Call 877-524-5027 to speak to a representative.