Toggle Menu

How is an HCC determined?

  • The CMS-HCC diagnostic classification system begins by classifying all ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes into diagnostic-related groups (DRG), which represent well-specified medical conditions or sets of conditions. Each code maps to a single DRG. DRGs are further aggregated into Condition Categories (CC), which describe a broader set of similar diseases. CCs are related clinically and with respect to cost. Hierarchies are imposed among related CCs, so that a person is coded for only the most severe manifestation among related diseases. After imposing hierarchies, CCs become Hierarchical Condition Categories (HCC). Because HCCs accumulate, a single individual may be coded for none, one, or more than one HCC.

Looking for Exhibiting Opportunities or Group Discounts?

Contact us at 844-825-1679.

Which certification is right for you?

Call 877-290-0440 or have a career counselor call you.

Which books are right for you?

Call 877-524-5027 to speak to a representative.