ICD-10 Coding

ICD-10 Coding

The International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision (ICD-9) has been used in the United States for over 30 years and is extremely limited in the level of specificity it can provide in clinical diagnoses within health care. Post October 1, 2015, ICD-10 coding allows for a greater level of detail with its seven (7) alphanumeric characters instead of the 5-digit ICD-9 code set. This massive overhaul of the national coding system, going from roughly 17,000 codes to about 140,000, will be the most significant change to health care in decades. For medical coders and billers, stronger clinical knowledge and a much greater understanding of anatomy and pathophysiology will be required as well as a strong comprehension of the ICD-10 coding.

View Full ICD-10 Training Plan

Note: To ensure the education is retained through the October 1, 2015 implementation date, we recommend waiting until at least late 2013 to begin steps 3 and 4 of this training plan for those with responsibility over their practice or facility's ICD-10 coding.

As quoted by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the Robert E. Nolan Company performed a study on challenges of ICD-10 implementation and estimated that each full time coder will need up to 40 hours of ICD-10 training Physicians and other clinicians will need additional training, ranging between 12 and 80 hours each. As part of our full ICD-10 training plan, we offer general code set training, specialty code set training, and an ICD-10 proficiency assessment.

For group purchases or to inquire about in-person training, please call 844-825-1679 or have us call you
For individual purchases, questions, or technical issues, please call 800-626-2633 or have us call you

Looking for Exhibiting Opportunities or Group Discounts?

Contact us at 844-825-1679.